Moving to Arlington, VA? Here is a new resident checklist
Arlington, Virginia has become one of the top places to live in the country. There is a vibrant cultural scene with some of the best restaurants, bars, shops, and businesses to work for in the country. Easy commutes to Washington, D.C. have made this a great area to call home. Use this checklist to get all of your ducks in a row.
Virginia Vehicle Registration
If you are moving to Arlington from another state, then you will need to register your vehicle with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 30 days of move-in. You can register through the DMV’s website here.
Virginia’s Driver’s License
Our of state long distance movers must apply for a Virginia Driver’s License within 60 days of move-in. Commercial licenses must be obtained within 30 days of moving into Virginia. If you are 18 or older and hold a valid driver’s license issued from another US state, Canadian province, France, Germany, or South Korea, you must pass a vision screening test. You will not be required to:
- Take the two-part knowledge exam
- Road skills test
- Show proof of successful completion of a driver’s education class or hold a learner’s permit for 60 days.
Arlington County Vehicle Registration
Residents must register their vehicle within 60 days of moving to the County, whether it is a county, state, or across nation move. Registering your vehicle will setup your vehicle’s Arlington County tax account. Although new residents have until 60 days to register the vehicle, the law requires the display of a County decal within 30 days. This caveat changes the functioning of the law to make it so you need to have the registration on your vehicle within 30 days. Register your vehicle in Arlington, VA to avoid the risk of being ticketed by the police.
Purchase a vehicle decal for each of your cars.
Once your car has been registered, you will need to purchase a vehicle decal. Like make residents in Arlington, you can pay the decal fee online. After making the payment you can download and print a temporary decal until the permanent decal arrives. Your decal should arrive within 10 business days.
Dog Vaccinations & Dog License
Arlington, Virginia requires that your dog’s rabies vaccinations are current per Virginia Code § 3.2-6521. Arlington County Code requires residents to license their dogs. However, the County does not require the licensing of service dogs. One year license fees are $10 and a three year license is only $25. Licenses can be applied for by mail, in person, or online (renewals only). The application can be downloaded here.